a a a Display options English
Follow Ofcom on Facebook Follow Ofcom on Twitter Subscribe to the Ofcom RSS Follow Ofcom on YouTube Subscribe to the Ofcom Email Updates

Rheoleiddiwr ac awdurdod cystadleuaeth
annibynnol i ddiwydiannau cyfathrebiadau’r DU

Search Ofcom

Ofcom appoints new members to the Advisory Committees for Northern Ireland and Scotland

June 20, 2012

Ofcom today announced the appointment of two new members of the Advisory Committee for Northern Ireland (ACNI) and two new members of the Advisory Committee for Scotland (ACS).

Ofcom has established an Advisory Committee for each nation of the UK. These Committees offer information and advice to Ofcom on aspects of its work, and of communications in general, which are of particular importance to each nation.

The two new appointments to the Advisory Committee for Northern Ireland are:

Andrew Colman

Andrew is a former Head of News & Current Affairs at BBC Northern Ireland. He was a member of BBC Northern Ireland’s senior management board where he was centrally involved in formulating strategy for the radio and television services, and in representing Northern Ireland’s interests to the BBC’s corporate centre.

Brendan Mulgrew

Brendan is managing Partner of MW Advocate, a PR and public affairs company. He is also Public Relations Officer for the Gaelic Athletic Association (GAA) in county Antrim.

Both new members will join the ACNI on 22 June.

The two new appointments to the Advisory Committee for Scotland are:

Stuart Gibson

Stuart is based in Edinburgh and is a self-employed consultant and author of the ‘Digital Power’ report for Reform Scotland. His previous banking career included Global Head of HBOS plc’s Telecoms and Media industry group. He is a non-executive director of Farrpoint Ltd (Telecoms consultancy), Smallworld Media (a cable business operating in South West Scotland and North West England), Location Scotland (a locations and production company), and is involved in Edinburgh Citizens Advice Bureau.

Peter Peacock

Peter is a former MSP and Scottish Government Minister and lives in Inverness. His early career in education was followed by periods in the voluntary and private sectors and as an Independent councillor on Highland Council, before being elected to The Scottish Parliament for the Labour Party in 1999. He retired from active politics at the Scottish Parliamentary Elections in 2011. He is currently Policy Director for Community Land Scotland and Chairman of the Customer Forum for the Water Industry in Scotland. He has held a variety of public sector positions and former appointments include the Post Office Board for Scotland, the Scottish Council Development and Industry and Chairman of Moray Firth Community Radio.

Stuart will be appointed with immediate effect and Peter will join the ACS in November 2012.

Philip Schlesinger, Chair, Advisory Committee Scotland said: “The Advisory Committee for Scotland has an extremely active role and broad agenda at a challenging time. We need in-depth expertise and good judgement across the piece and I am therefore delighted to welcome people of the calibre of Stuart Gibson and Peter Peacock to the committee.”

Members of the advisory committee for each Nation are appointed through an open public process.


Notes to editors

1. More information about the Advisory Committee for Northern Ireland can be found here: http://www.ofcom.org.uk/about/how-ofcom-is-run/committees/advisory-committees-for-the-nations/northern-ireland/

2. Ofcom is the independent regulator and competition authority for the UK communications industries, with responsibilities across television, radio, telecommunications, wireless communications and postal services.

3. For further information about Ofcom please visit: www.ofcom.org.uk. Ofcom’s news releases can be found at: http://media.ofcom.org.uk/

Back to top